Home Social Obituaries Business Sports Letters Events Entertainment

Badger harriers feted after a good season

November 12, 2018
Badger Cross Country 2018 lettermen
The 2018 Badger Cross Country lettermen were back row l-r: Serenity Fahey, Tyler Lucas, Hunter Smith, Austin Donn, Conner Alexander, Levi Bonnell, Sam Gorton, and Ty Grigg. Front row l-r: Abby Gorton, Madi McIntyre, Camille Ussher, and Emily Gorino. Not pictured: Duncan McKechnie.
The Badger cross country team gathered one last time Wednesday for their awards night ceremony, and every member of the team was recognized. One of the team's new traditions, started last year, was to have every athlete write a favorite quote, memory or compliment for every single one of their 26 teammates. They had a lot to celebrate this season, including multiple medals, a first place finish, multiple top five team finishes and a trip to state.

The Badgers had 13 lettermen this year; Serenity Fahey, Tyler Lucas, Hunter Smith, Austin Donn, Conner Alexander, Levi Bonnell, Sam Gorton,  Ty Grigg, Abby Gorton, Madi McIntyre, Camille Ussher, Emily Gorino and Duncan McKechnie.

Three individual awards were also presented, recognizing some of the team's best. Coaches Tyler Warner and Catherine DelSalle chose the awards.

Abby Gorton and Hunter Smith were the recipients of the “Outstanding XC Badger” Award. This award traditionally goes to the athlete that best exemplifies the cross country spirit: someone who is a hard worker, is selfless when it comes to the team, helps others, someone who shows grit, is someone that a freshman could approach for help and also performed well at meets.

Abby Gorton this year had multiple top five finishes, including fifth at state, she won the district championship and broke the school 5k record with a time of 19:27.

Hunter Smith won 16th place at the state race this year and ran a time of 17:00 for a season best. He placed in the top 10 at several races this year and was third at districts.

Both student-athletes were essential to the successes we had this season. They helped younger runners, they helped coaches and stayed humble through all of their successes.

In addition to winning the Outstanding Badger awards, both Gorton and Smith were selected for the All-District I team, called the Dirty Dozen. The Dirty Dozen is selected every year by all of the District I coaches, which includes the entire IML; Bonners Ferry, CdA Charter, Kellogg, Priest River and Timberlake, as well as Sandpoint, CdA High School, Lake City High School and Post Falls. This is usually determined by best season performances with an emphasis placed on performance at state.

The other award we give is called the 110% award. The 110% award goes to the teammate who goes above and beyond what is expected of our athletes. This person not only volunteers for extra workouts, but gives maximum effort on every practice and gives selflessly of themselves to the team.

This years recipient was Ty Grigg, a sophomore and first year runner at Bonners Ferry High School.

Ty transferred from Garden Valley, Idaho, with his parents, Mike and Kim Grigg. From day one, Ty has been dedicated to working hard with this team. He became something of a legend on the team when, during course clean-up, there was a tree in the way and he chopped it down with a shovel. He further cemented himself on the team by consistently finishing in the top four in team scoring.

He was always courteous to coaches, to teammates, and he was first to volunteer for extra jobs or just hold open a door for anyone. Ty's fastest time this season was 18:19 at Kellogg.

"Coach Catherine and I would like to thank all the parents for their support and all of the team dinners this season," coach Warner said. "Also special thanks to Principal Kevin Dinning and Athletic Director Conrad Garner for their support this season, as not every cross country team is as well attended or supported by their administrators as BFHS Cross Country is."
Badger Cross Country
The 2018 Outstanding Badger XC recipients are (l-r) Abby Gorton and Hunter Smith, and the 110% award went to Ty Grigg.

© Kootenai Valley Times
P.O. Box 1625
Bonners Ferry, ID 83806